Not Just for Kids

 

I like to think of myself as an adult, making rational decisions, responsible and disciplined, intelligently and authentically working my way through this long mourning process. 

And so, I wasn’t particularly interested in reading Tear Soup – A Recipe for Healing after Loss, a big-print, richly-illustrated book that definitely looks intended for children, even though it advertises itself as for all ages.

The good folks at the palliative care centre of which Bill and I had been clients had lent me a copy after I shared August Farewell with them.

I got an email this morning from the centre, checking in on me and asking what I had thought of Tear Soup.

I pulled the book off my shelf where I had left it unopened since receiving it and tried to figure out why I was avoiding it. I concluded there were two reasons:

a) this is a children’s book. I am an adult. What could I possibly learn from reading it? 

b) this is a grief book. I am in grief. I don’t have the emotional energy to read it.

Feeling chastened, I opened it and read it. Cover to cover it took no more then ten minutes to get through.

It’s not just for kids. The story line captures many of the ingredients that I have been mixing around in my own personal kitchen of distress.

The lesson I take away from today’s discovery is, don’t be so sure of yourself, David. When unexpected gifts are dropped in your lap, pause and take a moment to be open to a new possibility.

You might be surprised what you find. And grateful.

* * * 

August Farewell and Tear Soup are available through http://amazon.com and other on-line book retailers.

For more information on August Farewell, check out my website at http://DavidGHallman.com where you’ll find among other material a short YouTube video explaining why I wrote August Farewell http://bit.ly/jZrEbf

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Not Just for Kids

  1. I’ve always thought things for children can teach to adults more than what they can teach to children. There is a simplicity and pureness in them we adults have lost. More often than not it’s what we need to go on. I always hold on to the children in me, I’ve never wanted to became unable to see the boa which ate the elephant. I’m glad you gave this book a chance to reach your heart 🙂

  2. I was really moved by this, and used it as a launching point for one of my own posts: http://www.patienceandfortitude.net/2012/10/06/look-where-you-canThank you!

Leave a Reply

